Holland vs the Netherlands

That Netherlands situation? Is complicated.

So in the end, there are 6 Caribbean islands, four countries, twelve provinces, two Hollands, two Netherlands and one kingdom, all Dutch.

This video is about as concise and straightforward an explanation as one could give, and you should really just watch it. Or read it, if you must.